Admin Permissions

System Admins are responsible for updating company details, assigning other admin roles, and managing all content, accounts and activity. Custom admin roles can be created to give individuals the ability to manage specific areas of your Workplace community.

System Administrators can add, change or remove admins for their company on Workplace.
You'll have the option to choose from the default admin roles listed below or to create a custom admin role:
  • Analyst: access reports on general Workplace activity.
  • Account Manager: add and remove people from Workplace, access reports on general activity and individual accounts.
  • Content Moderator: manage posts across all groups, add and remove people from Workplace and access reports on general activity and individual accounts.
  • System Administrator: update company details, assign admin roles, and manage all content, accounts and activity. A System Administrator can also access all billing information and can create and implement integrations.
Was this information helpful?
Only system admins can add, edit or remove admin access.
To add someone as an admin from your computer:
  1. Click Admin Panel at the top left of Workplace.
  2. Click Admins.
  3. Go to the Admins tab.
  4. To add a new admin, type the person's name next to Create a new Admin and select the person you'd like to add.
  5. From the pop-up, select the correct admin role and click Save.
To edit permissions or remove admin access for a user from your computer:
Click Change Role next to the admin.
Note: Users without emails cannot be system admins on Workplace.
Was this information helpful?
Only system admins can create a custom role.
To create a custom admin role from your computer:
  1. Click Admin Panel at the top left of Workplace.
  2. Click Admins.
  3. Go to the Roles tab.
  4. Click + New Role.
  5. Name your new admin role and select the permissions for the role then click Create Role. To edit permissions or delete a custom role, click the Edit button next to the role.
Was this information helpful?
All Workplaces require a system admin. If your admin leaves Workplace, you’ll have three options to choose from.

Contact support
If your system admin leaves Workplace, you will need to contact support to let us know that you require a new admin.
You’ll be asked to verify the domain belonging to your Workplace to ensure the request is valid. If you can verify the domain by altering the DNS or replying with a token that we send to admin@yourdomain, we will promote you to system admin.
If you’re not sure who has access to prove ownership of your domain, contact your IT department.

Reclaim admin email address
If your company retains control of the email address associated with the admin account, you can use that to reset login and password for the system admin and select a new admin.

Create a new Workplace
If you are unable to contact support or access the previous admin’s email, you can create a new instance and invite everyone.
Note: If you don’t have a system admin for your old Workplace, you can’t delete it once you have created a new one. If you want to download your data from your old Workplace, you can only do so if the feature was enabled by the previous admin.
Was this information helpful?